Six students will lead UNL’s 2023 Bateman Competition Team

Wednesday, December 7, 2022 - 3:45pm

Students in the University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s College of Journalism and Mass Communications will take part in the 2023 Bateman Case Study Competition.

Top row (from left): Dave Remund, Nick Murphy, Sarah Rosenberg, Emily Stoner, Jeff Salem. Bottom row (from left): Alexis Goeman, LeAnne Bugay, Kara Stone.

Bateman is a national competition for public relations students, sponsored by the Public Relations Student Society of America. The competition gives students an opportunity to apply their classroom education and internship experiences to create and implement a full public relations campaign.

The best of the best journalism, media and communications collegiate programs nationwide participate in Bateman. This is the ninth year CoJMC will enter the competition. Campaigns put together by CoJMC students have earned top-3, top-16 and top-20 national finishes.

Last year’s team won first place for their campaign “1 for 1.” The campaign raised awareness of lymphoma and the challenges adolescents and young adults can face when diagnosed with lymphoma. Other Bateman campaigns have addressed social issues related to civility, mental health, student veterans and affordable housing.

The 2023 challenge is in support of News Literacy Project. Teams across the U.S. will develop and execute integrated communications campaigns to raise awareness around the importance of knowing how to separate fact from fiction and become more informed, engaged and empowered citizens.

This year’s faculty adviser is Dave Remund, assistant professor of practice at the CoJMC. The team’s professional public relations advisor is Jeff Salem, director of communications and public relations at the Arbor Day Foundation.

The following students, listed with their hometown, major and year, were selected to compete on the 2023 Bateman Competition team:

Name Hometown Major(s) Year
LeAnne Bugay Bellevue, NE Advertising and Public Relations, Journalism Senior
Alexis Goeman Sioux Falls, SD Advertising and Public Relations, Journalism Sophomore
Nick Murphy Hainesville, IL Advertising and Public Relations Senior
Sarah Rosenberg Bloomington, MN Advertising and Public Relations, Journalism Junior
Kara Stone Elm Creek, NE Journalism Junior
Emily Stoner Lincoln, NE Advertising and Public Relations Junior