Huskers win at AMA Lincoln’s 2022 Prism Awards

Tuesday, May 10, 2022 - 10:00am
NSAC Prism Award Winners
Breanna Epp, Mackenzie Zaruba, Olivia McCown, Kelli Britten, Brenna Doherty and Madeleine Leblanc accepting six Prism Awards for the 2021 NSAC team.

The Lincoln chapter of the American Marketing Association held its annual Prism awards on Thursday, May 5. The Prism Awards were created to celebrate the strength and innovation of Lincoln’s marketers. Student groups within the College of Journalism and Mass Communications altogether won nine Prism Awards and three Sterling Awards.

The 2021 National Student Advertising Competition(NSAC) team won six Prism awards in the Digital Ads, Short-form Video, Marketing Research, Marketing Campaign, Media Plans and Digital TV categories.

The team developed an integrated marketing campaign that encourages 18- to 24 year-olds to download the world’s most popular dating app, Tinder. The campaign won second place at the district competition.

The 2021 NSAC advisers were assistant professor of practice Kelli Britten and lecturers Rich Bailey and Diane Krajicek.

“This NSAC team won the top award in each category for their work, and I am so grateful they have been recognized by professionals,” Britten said. “They worked incredibly hard to develop a professional, targeted campaign and I continue to be impressed by this team’s success both inside and outside of the classroom.”

The following students (some are now alumni) were part of the 2021 NSAC team and attended UNL’s College of Journalism and Mass Communications, College of Business and/or the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts.


Huntley: Camille Paddock, alumna


Council Grove: Dylan De Vries, alumnus

Overland Park: Brenna Doherty, alumna

Shawnee: Nicole Tubbesing, alumna


Aurora: Bryce Reichardt, alumnus

Fremont: Jaydn Bernt, alumna

Friend: Madison Zumpfe, senior, advertising and public relations and broadcasting

Holdrege: Mackenzie Zaruba, senior, advertising and public relations and graphic design

Lincoln: Madeleine Leblanc, alumna; Breanna Epp, senior, art history and criticism and graphic design; Olivia McCown, senior, advertising and public relations and journalism; Sophia Messineo, senior, advertising and public relations and journalism

Omaha: Caleb Kirilov, junior, emerging media arts


Arlington: Gabrielle Cottraux, alumna


Wenzhou: Zhaozhou Dai, alumnus

Jacht Agency won an award in every category it entered. Jacht students won three Prism awards: in Logo Design for the Northeast Family Center logo, in Diversity Equity and Inclusion for Husker Dialogues and in Long-Form Video for the Omaha Public Schools oral history video. Jacht also won two Sterling Awards in Email Blasts or Series for their CASNR email campaign and in Short-Form Video for their McNair Scholars program video.

CoJMC faculty who contributed to the Jacht student's success are Director Jemlayn Griffin, Director of Multimedia Alan Eno and Creative Director Katie Krcmarik.