UNL’s 2022 National Student Advertising Competition Team announced

Friday, December 3, 2021 - 3:45pm

Seventeen students were selected for the University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communication’s 2022 National Student Advertising Competition team.

For the competition, a client provides a brief outlining the history of its product and current challenge. Students research the company and its competition, identify potential problem areas and devise an integrated campaign for the client. In the spring, each student team pitches their campaign to a panel of judges.

This year’s client is the Meta Quest virtual reality headset technology, Quest 2.

The UNL National Student Advertising Competition Team is led by CoJMC lecturer Monte Olson, lecturer and founder of Bailey Lauerman Rich Bailey and lecturer and strategic brand consultant Diane Krajicek.

The following is a list of the 2022 UNL NSAC team members:

Position Name Hometown Major Year
Account Manager Kathleen Esser York, NE ADPR and Communication Studies Senior
Project Manager Quin Sleddens Lincoln, NE ADPR and Journalism Junior
Director of Strategy Rachel Haufler Lincoln, NE ADPR Senior
Researcher Sadie Lamplot Thurston, NE ADPR, Hospitality, Tourism and Management, Accounting Senior
Promotions Manager Kaysi Radek Cary, IL ADPR Senior
Director of Public Relations Adeline Berger St. Paul, MN ADPR Junior
Director of Media Vanessa Cruz-Alatriste Lincoln, NE ADPR Junior
Social Media Planner/Analyst Mikayla Shultz Lincoln, NE ADPR and Management Senior
Co-Creative Director / Copywriter  Olivia McCown Lincoln, NE ADPR and Journalism Senior
Co-Creative Director / Copywriter Sophia Messineo Lincoln, NE ADPR Senior
Art Director Breanna Epp Lincoln, NE Graphic Design, Art History and Criticism Senior
Graphic Designer Anna Fiala Papillion, NE Graphic Design Senior
Graphic Designer Ashleigh Kawaoka Lenexa, KS ADPR and Graphic Design Junior
Copywriter Madi Waltman Earlham, IA ADPR and Graphic Design Junior
Interactive Designer  Sam Lawton Blair, NE Immersive Interactive Media and Virtual Production Sophomore
Interactive Designer Madison Zumpfe Friend, NE ADPR, Broadcast Production, Agricultural and Environmental Science Communication Senior
Videographer Johnathon O'Keeffe Hastings, NE Graphic Design Senior


AAF National Advertising Competition logo