Students, faculty and organizations honored at the Student Impact Awards

Friday, May 12, 2023 - 3:15pm

The Student Impact Awards were announced for 2022-23 by Student Leadership, Involvement and Community Engagement at an evening reception in the Nebraska Union on May 4.

Student Impact Awards celebrate the outstanding contributions to the University of Nebraska–Lincoln community by the more than 550 Recognized Student Organizations (RSOs) and their leaders. This year's nominees included 54 organizations, 36 individuals, and 17 programs.

Junior advertising and public relations, and broadcasting double major Jacob Vanderford of Lincoln was awarded this year’s Student Leadership Award. Vanderford was nominated by Braden Foreman-Black, UNL Teacher Scholars Academy Coordinator; Clifton Strengths Institute Program Coordinator, Alyson Lenz and Shelley Zaborowski, Executive Director of the Nebraska Alumni Association.


Junior ADPR and broadcasting major Jacob Vanderford with his Student Leadership Award.

“I’m looking forward to striving for more moments of impact and growth, providing an encouraging environment for learning and continuing my pursuit of making a positive difference in our clubs and communities together, with the people who continue to inspire me,” Vanderford said.

The Student Impact Awards ceremony introduced a new category of honorees this year, with 28 students receiving Husker Volunteer Designation certificates for completing over 100 volunteer hours with nonprofit organizations.

Husker Volunteer Designation awardees at the Student Impact Awards on May 4.

Three of those students are enrolled in the CoJMC; Robert Coleman, a sophomore advertising and public relations major from California, Maryland; Maggie Nielsen, a senior advertising and public relations, German and global studies triple major from Hastings; and Shelby Rickert, a freshman journalism major from Beaver City.

 UNL’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) club was nominated in several categories. The group was nominated for their work on the I Love My Dog Expo for their semester service project in the Student Organization Philanthropy & Service category. The club was also nominated in the Outstanding Student Organization category.

PRSSA members at a Domesti-PUPS Saturday play group, preparing for the I Love My Dog Expo.

This year’s PRSSA president, senior advertising and public relations major Sydney Wagner of Gretna, was nominated for Outstanding Student Organization President, and assistant professor of practice and the club’s faculty advisor, Dave Remund was nominated in the Outstanding New Advisor category.