Huskers win five Nebraska advertising awards

Friday, February 17, 2023 - 4:30pm

Students in UNL’s College of Journalism and Mass Communications brought home four silver awards and one gold award at the 2023 Nebraska Advertising Awards on Friday, Feb. 10.

Each year, the Nebraska Advertising Awards recognize the best and brightest ads and campaigns created by Nebraska businesses and advertising agencies. American Advertising Federation Omaha (AAF Omaha) and American Advertising Federation Lincoln (AAF Lincoln) members are recognized and rewarded for their creative excellence in what has become the industry’s largest and most respected competition.

Below is the full list of Husker student winners, listed alphabetically by hometown (when applicable) with their year in school, major(s), category or categories and project name(s). The college congratulates these students on their award-winning projects. 

Gold Nebraska Advertising Award Winner

  • UNL’s 2022 National Student Advertising Competition Team, Animation or Special Effects, “Why Not Now Quest Is Ready Concert”


Silver Nebraska Advertising Award Winners


  • Emily Bray (Designer), senior, advertising and public relations and graphic design, Product or Service Sales Promotion: Packaging, “Cerveza de Chicas”

  • Brooke Dlouhy (Copywriter), junior, advertising and public relations and journalism, Product or Service Sales Promotion: Packaging, “Cerveza de Chicas”

  • Caitlyn Gish, junior, advertising and public relations, Elements of Advertising: Copywriting, “Vans: Sorry it Took so Long”

  • Mia Hartley, senior, advertising and public relations, Art Direction: Campaign, “Yoi Jikan Craft Cider”

  • UNL’s 2022 National Student Advertising Competition Team, Integrated Advertising Campaign: Consumer Campaign, “Why Not Now Quest Is Ready”

The following is a list of UNL's 2022 National Advertising Competition team members. The team's advisers were former assistant professor of practice Kelli Britten, lecturer Rich Bailey and lecturer Diane Krajicek.

Position Name Hometown Major Year
Account Manager Kat Esser York, NE ADPR and Communication Studies Senior
Project Manager Quin Sleddens Lincoln, NE ADPR and Journalism Junior
Director of Strategy Rachel Haufler Lincoln, NE ADPR Senior
Director of Research Sadie Lamplot Thurston, NE ADPR, Hospitality, Tourism and Management, Accounting Junior
Director of Public Relations Adeline Berger St. Paul, MN ADPR Junior
Director of Media Vanessa Cruz-Alatriste Lincoln, NE ADPR Junior
Social Media Planner/Analyst Mikayla Shultz Lincoln, NE ADPR and Management Senior
Co-Creative Director / Copywriter  Olivia McCown Lincoln, NE ADPR and Journalism Senior
Co-Creative Director / Copywriter Sophia Messineo Lincoln, NE ADPR Senior
Art Director Breanna Epp Lincoln, NE Graphic Design, Art History and Criticism Senior
Graphic Designer Anna Fiala Papillion, NE Graphic Design Senior
Graphic Designer Ashleigh Kawaoka Lenexa, KS ADPR and Graphic Design Junior
Graphic Designer Madi Waltman Earlham, IA ADPR and Graphic Design Junior
Interactive Designer  Sam Lawton Blair, NE Immersive Interactive Media and Virtual Production Sophomore
Interactive Designer Madison Zumpfe Friend, NE ADPR, Broadcast Production, Agricultural and Environmental Science Communication Senior
Videographer Johnathon O'Keeffe Hastings, NE Graphic Design Senior

The local awards are the first of the three-tier, national competition. In the second tier, local winners compete against other winners in 14 district competitions held concurrently across the country. District winners are then forwarded to the third tier, the American Advertising Awards.

CoJMC students and alumni at the 2023 Nebraska Advertising Awards
Back row (from left to right): Emily Bray, Madi Waltman, Anna Fiala, Johnny O'Keeffe, Sam Lawton, Mikayla Shutlz, Sadie Lamplot; Front row (from left to right): Mia Hartley, Sophia Messineo, Quin Sleddens, Breanna Epp, Madison Zumpfe