Huskers receive Nebraska Broadcasters Association Foundation scholarships

Wednesday, December 13, 2023 - 10:00am

Two students from the UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications received scholarships from the Nebraska Broadcasters Association Foundation for the 2023-2024 academic year. These prestigious awards recognize their dedication to the field of broadcasting.  

Krystin Collins, a junior double majoring in broadcasting and sports media and communication from Papillion, was awarded the $3,500 Dick Palmquist Scholarship. Lance Vie, a senior broadcasting major from Nickerson, received the $5,000 Marty Riemenschneider Scholarship. 

“These students are our future. The Nebraska Broadcasters Association Foundation is honored to support and award these scholarships,” said Shannon Booth, NPA board chairperson and vice president and general manager of the Gray Media Group, Inc., television stations in Lincoln, Hastings and North Platte. We congratulate these students for their hard work and dedication to this exciting field. The future is bright for broadcasters. 

The NBAF has a rich history of nurturing future broadcasting professionals, having provided over $350,000 in college scholarships to students enrolled in radio and/or television broadcasting or broadcast journalism educational programs at designated higher education institutions in Nebraska since 1997. In addition to the scholarships, the organization hosts the annual Pinnacle Award competition, offering students a platform to showcase their talents and compete against peers from across the state. In 2021, the NBAF generously supported the Don and Lorena Meier Studio, an open-air integrated television studio and newsroom, providing hands-on learning opportunities for students within the UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications. 

"The Nebraska Broadcasters Association has been a steadfast champion of our students, and we are immensely grateful for its ongoing support,” said Shari Veil, dean of the UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications. “These scholarships provide our aspiring broadcasters with not only financial assistance but also the encouragement and recognition they need to excel in their field.”  

For more information about the Nebraska Broadcasters Association, visit 

Krystin Collins and Lance Vie
From left: Krystin Collins and Lance Vie