Hachtmann honored with AEJMC Advertising Division’s Distinguished Teaching Award

Wednesday, August 25, 2021 - 10:15am

Professor of advertising and publications and sports media & communication Frauke Hachtmann was honored with the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (AEJMC) Advertising Division’s Distinguished Teaching Award on August 8, 2021.

The Distinguished Teaching Award rewards excellence in undergraduate teaching over a sustained period of time. The following is a list of items the selection committee considered when selecting Hachtmann as the award-winner:

  • Subject mastery and competence. Includes items such as demonstrating a comprehensive command of the subject matter; continuous growth in the field; currency with trends, challenges and controversies in the field.

  • Classroom management and communication skills. Includes items such as organizing and presenting course material in a coherent manner; implementing effective teaching methods and developing innovative curricular materials; displaying enthusiasm and vitality in the classroom.

  • Creation of a positive learning environment. Includes items such as the ability to inspire students to engage in reflective analysis and critical thinking; encouraging intellectual curiosity; demonstrating respect for students; encouraging and promoting diversity and diverse perspectives inside and outside the classroom.

  • Dedication to teaching. Includes items such as engaging in continuous efforts to evaluate and improve one’s own teaching; developing new courses and/or redesigning existing courses to incorporate new knowledge, methods and/or materials; inspiring and assisting colleagues to increase their teaching effectiveness

  • Assessment. Includes items that demonstrate student learning success inside and outside the classroom.

“I’m so incredibly honored and grateful to have received this year’s award,” Hachtmann said. “It’s a pleasure to be part of an organization that supports teaching and emphasizes the importance of life-long learning.”


Frauke Hachtmann
Frauke Hachtmann
Distinguished Teaching Award