Ben Preston and Phyllis Larsen receive top Student Impact Awards

Wednesday, April 9, 2014 - 7:00pm

A College of Journalism and Mass Communications student and faculty member received two of the top Student Impact Awards at a banquet April 10 in the Nebraska Union. Ben Preston took home the top Student Leadership Award and Phyllis Larsen, professor of practice, took home the Outstanding Advisor Award.

Preston is president of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Public Relations Student Society of America chapter and the PR director for Jacht Ad Lab, the college’s student advertising agency.  He has been awarded a PRSA Nebraska scholarship two years in a row and he has held a marketing and PR internship with Assurity Life Insurance Company. The Omaha native is majoring in journalism, advertising and public relations with concentrations in Spanish, English and history.

Larsen serves as the University of Nebraska–Lincoln PRSSA faculty advisor. She has received two Spirit of Service Faculty Awards; a Mortar Board “People Who Inspire” award; and multiple certificates of recognition for contributions to students from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln Parents Association and Teaching Council. 

CoJMC students Khloe Keeler, Casey Venema and Ryann Lynn were finalists in the outstanding student leadership category, the outstanding student organization member category and the outstanding commitment to recruitment on behalf of University of Nebraska–Lincoln Public Relations Student Society of America chapter, respectively.

Faculty member Bryan Ming Wang was a finalist in the outstanding new advisor category. The University of Nebraska–Lincoln PRSSA chapter was a finalist in the philanthropy and service award category. Wang is an assistant professor of advertising and public relations. 

The Student Impact Awards honor leaders on campus, including outstanding Recognized Student Organization officers, members and advisors.