Barmore and Barr place in Hearst Competitions

Sunday, March 20, 2022 - 7:45am

Abby Barmore placed fourth in the Hearst Journalism Awards Sports Writing Competition for her story, “If you can see it, you can be it: How Volleyball in Nebraska created a cycle of greatness.” Barmore is a senior sports media and communication major from Lincoln. She will receive a $1,000 award, and the college will receive a matching grant.

Damon Barr placed seventeenth in the Hearst Multimedia III Competition for his entry, "Nebraska bill seeks to raise minimum wage to $20." Barr is a 2021 graduate of the CoJMC and he is now enrolled at UNL's College of Law.

This year, judges for the Hearst Journalism Awards writing competitions are Kimbriell Kelly, Washington Bureau chief, The Los Angeles Times; Larry Kramer, retired president and publisher, USA Today; Maria Reeve, editor-in-chief, The Houston Chronicle and former judge Dwayne Bray, journalist-at-large, ESPN's The Undefeated.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is comprised of 14 monthly competitions in a variety of categories including writing, photojournalism, audio, television and multimedia. Participation is limited to journalism programs accredited by the Accrediting Council for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications, and each school is limited to two entries in each competition. 

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program was founded in 1960 to provide support, encouragement and assistance to journalism education at the college and university level. The program awards scholarships to students for outstanding performance in college-level journalism, with matching grants to the students’ schools. The 62nd annual program, offering up to $700,000 in awards, consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, one audio competition, two television competitions,and four multimedia competitions – with championship finals in all divisions.


Hearst Award