Grads named Nebraska Sportswriter and Sportscaster of the Year

Saturday, January 22, 2022 - 5:30am

Two University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications graduates, Luke Mullin and Chris Schmidt, were named Nebraska Sportswriter and Sportscaster of the year, respectively, by the National Sports Media Association on Jan. 18. 

Mullin, a 2021 journalism graduate, was named Sportswriter of the Year. Mullin, who previously managed the Lincoln Journal Star’s high school volleyball and baseball beats in a part-time role, transitioned into the face of the newspaper’s high school sports coverage in July. He currently serves as the high school sportswriter for the Lincoln Journal Star.

Schmidt, a 2001 broadcasting graduate, was named Nebraska Sportscaster of the Year. He is currently employed with KLMS Radio in Lincoln and is the host of Hail Varsity Radio, part of the Hail Varsity network which provides coverage of Husker Sports. 

The NSMA will honor its winners and Hall of Fame inductees during the organization’s 62nd awards weekend and national convention, scheduled for June 25-27, in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.


Luke Mullin and Chris Schmidt headshots
Luke Mullin and Chris Schmidt