Huskers to compete in 2022 Perry Photojournalism Challenge

Sunday, February 27, 2022 - 9:00am

With three monetary awards on the line, 17 students in the University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s College of Journalism and Mass Communications will compete in the Philip Perry Photojournalism Challenge from March 4-6.

1st place will receive $7,000, 2nd place will receive $2,000 and 3rd place will receive $1,000 applied directly to their student accounts.

Beginning at 5 p.m. March 4, participants will have 24 hours to shoot and edit a photo essay of up to 12 photographs inspired by the theme “Life After.” At 5 p.m. on March 5, essays will be judged by five professional photographers who will select five finalists to present on day three. This year's judges are: 

  • Allen Schaben, staff photographer, Los Angeles Times

  • Calla Kessler, freelance photographer, NYC

  • Robert Cohen, staff photojournalist, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

  • Steve Smith, Professor of Visual Communication, University of Connecticut 

  • Anna Reed, Photojournalist, Omaha World Herald

Judges will consider the following criteria: subject matter, impact, creativity, composition, technical quality and storytelling.

At 10:30 a.m. on Sunday, March 6, the finalists will present their work to the judges, faculty and friends of the college in Andersen Hall, and a winner will be named.

The following is a list of this year’s student participants and their majors: 

Naomi Delkamiller Journalism
Bella Dickenson Advertising and Public Relations
Michael Earnest Broadcasting
Aeriel Frey Broadcasting
Dillon Galloway Journalism
Dulce Garcia Journalism
Hailey Haar Broadcasting
Marissa Kraus Journalism
Jordan Moore Journalism
Lauren Penington Journalism
Abby Post Sports Media and Communication
Hayden Rooney Broadcasting
Alana Ross Sports Media and Communication
Trystin Somers Journalism
Emma Storms Advertising and Public Relations
Sebastian Vladimir Broadcasting
Mai Vu Advertising and Public Relations
perry photo logo 2022