Recent faculty accomplishments: August 2021

Friday, August 20, 2021 - 4:15pm

Professor Barney McCoy produced a report for Nebraska Public Media on the return of a WWII sailor to Nebraska.  The sailor, Louis Tushla, died in Pearl Harbor, and his remains were identified last September.

McCoy was also featured in an NPM signature report, "Nebraska College Students Say Remote Learning Affected Their Experience" and gave a presentation, "Approaching Media Requests and Concerns: What Reporters are Looking For" to the Nebraska Health Care Association.

Professors F​​rauke Hachtmann, Laurie Lee and Barney McCoy along with Associate Professor Bryan Ming Wang and lecturer Madeline Laura Wiseman have been accepted into the Nebraska Governance and Technology Center Resident Faculty Fellow program for 2021-22.

Professor Frauke Hachtmann was honored with the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications Advertising Division Distinguished Teaching Award on August 8.

Associate Professor Valerie Jones was selected as a Nebraska Governance and Technology Center Fellow and was interviewed by Nebraska Public Media for a story titled, "Should a "Posting Index" be a New Economic Indicator?"

Assistant Professors Kelli Boling and Ciera Kirkpatrick were both selected as fellows by the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication.

Professor Maria Marron received the Donna Allen Award for Feminist Advocacy from the Associate for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications Commission on the Status of Women.