CoJMC News

Join a CoJMC Recognized Student Organization

Jan 17 2018 - 2:15pm

Is part of your New Year’s resolution to get more involved? There are plenty of awesome opportunities right here! Below is a list of CoJMC organizations and advisers.

CoJMC News

“Transcendental Meditation in America: How a New Age Movement Remade a Small Town in Iowa”
Iowa hub for Transcendental Meditation is focus of Weber's work
May 18 2014 - 7:00pm

UNL associate professor of journalism Joseph Weber traces how Fairfield, Iowa, became the unlikely home to the spiritual movement favored by the Beatles and other 1960s and 1970s celebrities. “Transcendental Meditation in America: How a New Age Movement Remade a Small Town in Iowa” investigates how “meditators” have influenced the town’s economy, politics, religious and social culture, and even its architecture.

James OHanlon
O'Hanlon honored for continued leadership
May 5 2014 - 7:00pm

The leadership of Jim O'Hanlon, interim dean for the College of Journalism and Mass Communications, was honored during UNL's promotion and tenure celebration on April 29. O'Hanlon was presented with UNL's first James P. O'Hanlon Academic Leadership Award by Ellen Weissinger, senior vice chancellor for academic affairs, and Ronnie Green, vice chancellor for the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

New Handbook of International Marketing Research
Hachtmann authors chapter in "The New Handbook of International Advertising Research"
May 4 2014 - 7:00pm

Professor Frauke Hachtmann of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln authored a chapter in “The New Handbook of International Advertising Research.” The book provides a broad range of specially commissioned chapters by Hong Cheng, editor, and is one in a series in communication and media for the student, experienced scholar and teacher with a convenient and comprehensive overview of the latest trends and critical directions for future research on international advertising.

Show Your Red Logo
Megan Skelly and Sydni Rowen named to ‘Franco’s List’ for character, integrity
May 1 2014 - 7:00pm

Freshmen Megan Skelly of Lakeville, Minn., and Sydni Rowen of Urbandale, Iowa, were recognized last month as outstanding agents of character and integrity. "Franco's List," named after UNL Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Juan Franco, recognizes UNL students who demonstrate the positive characteristics that are part of being a person of integrity.

2014 UNL NSAC team
UNL to compete at national advertising competition for sixth year
Apr 24 2014 - 7:00pm

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications will compete for the national title in the National Student Advertising Competition for the sixth year in a row. The competition will be held at the American Advertising Federation national conference in Boca Raton, Fla., on May 29.

SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards
UNL wins SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards
Apr 24 2014 - 7:00pm

The Society of Professional Journalists recognized the University of Nebraska-Lincoln with Mark of Excellence Awards during the Region 7 meeting in Overland Park, Kan., April 25. UNL finished first in four categories and was a finalist in six categories. First-place winners will move on to the national MOE competition.

J Days
CoJMC to honor students, alumni and leaders during J Days
Apr 21 2014 - 7:00pm

The annual J Days celebration kicks off with Game Night on Wednesday, April 23, where students can participate in Game Night. Each student club will host a carnival-style game in Andersen Hall so that students can come together to have fun and relax. J Days is held each spring to honor and recognize the work and achievements of current students, alumni and industry leaders.

Sarah Jo Lambert
Sarah Jo Lambert honored at UNL’s Ivy Day ceremonies
Apr 18 2014 - 7:00pm

Sarah Jo Lambert of Lubbock, Texas, was inducted into the Innocents Society during the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s annual Ivy Day ceremonies on April 19. The Innocents Society inducts 13 new members each spring, with selection based on leadership, scholarship and service to the university and greater community.

Kaylee Everly
Kaylee Everly to compete in Hearst national championship
Apr 15 2014 - 7:00pm

University of Nebraska-Lincoln journalism student Kaylee Everly of Fremont will participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program’s National Championships held June 2-6, 2014 in Washington, D.C. Everly is one of five college multimedia finalists whose work was selected from 151 entries submitted.

Ashley Rutland
Ashley Rutland receives study abroad scholarship
Apr 13 2014 - 7:00pm

Ashley Rutland is received a $1,000 Christian Lieding Scholarship for her overseas study in visual communication to Japan this past summer.



UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications on: