Bender and Anderson inducted into the 2022 Nebraska Journalism Hall of Fame

Monday, November 7, 2022 - 9:45am

The Nebraska Journalism Hall of Fame banquet and induction ceremony was held Saturday, October 22, 2022, at The Graduate Hotel, in Lincoln, NE.

The six honorees inducted into the 2022 Hall of Fame were:

  • Tim Anderson, associate professor emeritus, UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications
  • John Bender, associate dean and journalism professor, UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications
  • Lee Ostdiek, former editor of the Blue Hill Leader
  • Russ and Lori Pankonin, former co-publishers of the Imperial Republican, Grant Tribune-Sentinel and Wauneta Breeze. Russ and Lori Pankonin are the first husband
    and wife team to be inducted into the Nebraska Journalism
     Hall of Fame.

  • Tom Southard (posthumously), longtime sports writer for the Kimball Western Nebraska Observer.


The Nebraska Journalism Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Nebraska Press Association and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications.

This award honors those distinguished persons who have made significant contributions to journalism in their communities, the state, or the nation. A selection committee of NPA and journalism college representatives select the inductees. Since the first Hall of Fame ceremony in 1975, 118 honorees have been inducted. 

Anderson and Bender
Tim Anderson and John Bender