Four broadcasting production students win grand prize in national competition

Tuesday, March 24, 2020 - 3:45pm

By Kaitlin Van Loon

The National Broadcasting Society (NBS) held its 78th annual National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition on Saturday, March 14th in Burbank, California, and four College of Journalism and Mass Communications students won grand prize trophies.

 All students' entries were submitted from work done in the college’s Videography/Cinematography course BRDC 359.

Alec Cromer of Fairbury and Brenna Doherty of Overland Park, KS won the top prize in the Public Service Announcement category for their video on Lincoln’s International Quilt Museum.

Ann Milroy of Omaha and Audrey Brooker of New Hyde Park, NY won the top prize in the Video Promotional Announcement category for their promo for KRNU radio.  

Finalists Emily Morrow of O’Neill, Elijah Herbel of Lincoln, and Ann Milroy earned an honorable mention for “Lighthouse Promotional Video: Jorj” in the Instructional/Corporate/Promotional category.


Watch all their entries here:

 Video Promo: “KRNU” 

Ann Milroy and Audrey Brooker


Video PSA: “International Quilt Museum”

Alec Cromer and Brenna Doherty


Promotional Video: “Lighthouse Promotional Video: Jorj”

Ann Milroy, Emily Morrow, Elijah Herbel