Faculty awarded professorships to support research

Saturday, December 18, 2021 - 8:30am

Three faculty were awarded professorships in 2021 to recognize and support their research and creative activity.

Frauke Hachtmann was awarded the William H. Kearns Chair in Journalism. The professorship will support her research into the effects of COVID-19 on the advertising industry and the use of computer mediated communication among female athletes.

Dane Kiambi and Valerie Jones were both awarded Fred A. & Gladys Seaton Professorships. Jones’ award will support the development of the Public Insights Lab, a collaborative research lab that will analyze social media sentiment and engagement using cutting edge analytics software.

Kiambi’s professorship will support his work on public diplomacy and international public relations with a focus on Kenya.

Professorships are competitively awarded and recognize faculty accomplishments in research. Each award provides a salary stipend and funding to support future research and creative activity.

Frauke Hachtmann, Valerie Jones and Dane Kiambi
Frauke Hachtmann, Valerie Jones and Dane Kiambi