CoJMC Staff Council announces January Not Too Shabby awards

Sunday, February 11, 2024 - 6:00am

The College of Journalism and Mass Communications Staff Council announced the January Not Too Shabby Award winners. Assistant Professor of Practice Kristian Anderson received the faculty award, and Technical Director Jamie Wenz received the staff award.

The Not Too Shabby Awards recognize staff and faculty members whose efforts go above and beyond the call of duty and have earned the appreciation of their peers. The Not Too Shabby awards are voted on monthly by members of the CoJMC Staff Council. Peer-to-peer kudos submissions serve as the nominations for the awards.

Anderson is an assistant professor of practice in broadcasting and the faculty liaison for the CoJMC student-led photography, videography, and livestreaming agency, Production House. CoJMC Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Affiars Cory Armstrong and Director of Business and Operations Haley Hamel nominated Anderson.

Armstrong said in her nomination, "Kristian's experience with media is incredible for the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Public Health's Media Training. His feedback and enthusiasm in these trainings make the program successful. "

Wenz is the college's technical director and oversees our television, audio, and podcasting studies. He received five nominations from Director of Business and Operations Haley Hamel, junior broadcasting major Marissa Lindemann, Gilbert and Martha Hitchcock Professor Barney McCory, Assistant Professor of Practice Kaci Richter and Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Affairs Cory Armstrong.

McCoy said in his nomination, " Jamie rolls with the punches better than almost anyone I know at keeping our video and audio student/faculty productions online, on air, and ongoing. He's tireless in his student and faculty technical training and support. He's innovative, too, as he constantly invents new ways to make college productions that are in-house or remote, faster, better and less costly.

Not Too Shabby Award winners are presented with a trophy to display in their offices for a month. The trophies move from recipient to recipient when a new award winner is named.

Kristian Anderson poses with award
Kristian Anderson, assistant professor of practice
Jamie Wenz poses with award
Jamie Wenz, technical director