College of Journalism and Mass Communications

Apply Now


If you want to learn a lot, work hard and have fun doing it, the UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications is the place to come. You will get real-world experience and work with faculty at a Big Ten university who believe your story really matters. Start here and learn the skills and ideas that will take you anywhere.

Students can go all over the world. Nebraska’s connections are global. Kathleen Loach Advertising and Public Relations major

How to Apply

Start your story at the CoJMC from day one. If you’re admitted to UNL, you’re admitted to the college. To be eligible for scholarships, select your major—Advertising & Public Relations, Journalism, or Broadcasting—on the undergraduate application and submit it by the application deadline: January 15 for incoming freshmen, February 1 for current or transfer students.

Read more about application

Visit the Office of Admissions website for additional details.

Jacht Ad Lab welcomes new crew for Spring 2015

Jacht Ad Lab class members spring 2015 Thursday, January 22, 2015
Jacht Ad Lab announced 26 students selected for the spring 2015 crew. Jacht gives UNL students the opportunity to run all aspects of an ad agency with the mentorship and support from Nebraska Global and local ad agencies Bailey Lauerman and Swanson Russell. 

Meet the Spring 2015 Omaha World-Herald fellows

OW-H logo Thursday, January 15, 2015
The Omaha World-Herald chose Vanessa Daves, Lexie Heinle, Natasha Rausch and Flora Zempleni from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications to work as fellows at the newspaper this spring.