

Nebraska Journalism Hall of Fame

Nomination Deadline: February 5, 2025

It is time to nominate distinguished journalists for our Hall of Fame. This is a most appropriate way to honor those who have honored us by their contributions to our profession and to our state and nation.

Please enter the name(s) of one or more persons you believe deserve this honor.

Rules:

- 1. Persons living or dead may be nominated.
- 2. Nominees shall have made a significant contribution to print journalism, their communities and/or their state and nation.
- 3. Nominees may come from any facet of the newspaper business, such as news, business, management, photography or any combinations.
- 4. Nominees must have spent a significant percentage of their newspaper careers in Nebraska.
- 5. Adopted in 2020: Consideration will be given to joint and related honorees, i.e. spouses, parent/son or daughter, siblings, whose collective work merits nomination for this honor.

Other considerations of importance:

- Winners of the Master Editor-Publisher Award are not automatically nominated.
- Nominees not selected this year will automatically be eligible for consideration the following year, then must be renominated.
- Nominations may come from persons not affiliated with NPA.
- Additions to the Hall of Fame may or may not be an annual event and there is no established maximum or minimum number for honorees/inductees at one time.

Nominations must include a completed form (see reverse), a detailed biography of the nominee and other appropriate detailed documentation of their career.

The selection committee will consist of the president of Nebraska Press Association who shall be chairman, the vice president, and the immediate past president of the association, the Dean of the University of Nebraska Journalism College, and one other representative of the Journalism College selected by the Dean. In the event a member of the committee cannot serve, the NPA president shall appoint a replacement for that year.

Nominees will be honored at the Nebraska Press Association Convention on April 25, 2025 in Kearney, Nebraska.

What is the Hall of Fame?

The Hall of Fame was started in 1973 by Jack Lowe, retired longtime editor and co-publisher of the Sidney Telegraph. The Hall of Fame will honor persons who have distinguished themselves *in printed journalism. It was one of the projects of* the Jack Lowe Community Journalism Fund at the University of Nebraska College of Journalism and Mass Communications. Since the Hall of Fame started, over 100 journalists have been inducted.

Previous Inductees

2022 - Tim Anderson

2022 - John Bender

2022 -Lee Ostdiek

2022 - Russ & Lori Pankonin 2022 -Tom Southard

2019 - Ted Gill

2019 - Les Mann

2019 - Joe Starita 2018 - John Gottschalk

2018 - Stuart "Stu" Bohacek

2018 – Allen J. Beermann

2017 - Lary King

2017 - Maxine Moul 2017 - Eileen Wirth

2016 – Sharron Hollen

2016 – G. Woodson

"Woody" Howe

2016 - Matt Waite 2016 - J.P. O'Furey

2015 - Lyle Denniston

2015 - Richard "Dick" Fleming

2015 - Butch Furse

2014 - Clarence Hebda 2014 - Ted Heuttmann

2014 - Kathleen Rutledge

2013 - William C. Nuckolls

2013 – Dewaine Gahan

2012 - Kent Warneke 2012 – Jim Seacrest

2012 - Dick Lindberg

2011 – Leslie Dale Falter 2011 - Charlyne Berens

2010 - Alton "Mook" Wilhelms

2010 - Dean Terrill

2009 - Fred Rose

2009 - Will Norton, Jr. 2009 - Gene Morris

2009 - Shirley Bogue

2009 - Norris Alfred

2008 - Alan Cunningham McIntosh

2008 – J. Alan Cramer 2008 - Zean E. Carney

2007 – Elia Wilkinson Peattie 2007 - Frank L. Partsch

2007 – George Miller 2007 - Mildred Brown

2006 – Lee Warneke

2006 – Bud Pagel

2006 – Burt James

2006 - Viola Drath 2006 - Bob Bogue

2005 - Gilbert Savery

2005 - Kenneth Rhoades

2005 – Robert Pinkerton

2005 - Keith Blackledge 2004 - Carroll "Cal" Stewart

2004 - Jerry Huse

2004 - Ronald R. Furse

2004 - John F. Edgecombe, Sr.

2003 - Henry Trysla

2003 - Reed O'Hanlon Jr. 2003 - Sterling H. McCaw

2003 - Will Owens Jones

2002 - Allen D. Strunk

2002 - Eugene Robb

2002 - Charles Moore 2002 - Walter Christenson

2001 - Jack Thompson

2001 - John G. Neihardt

2001 - Loral Johnson

2001 - Earle "Buddy" Bunker 2000 - Jack Pollock

2000 - Paul F. Wagner

2000 - Charles Summer

"Cy" Sherman 1999 – Harvey Newbranch

1999 - William Mccleery

1999 - Fred A. Seaton

1998 - Emil W Reutzel Ir

1998 - J. Sterling Morton

1997 - Barney Oldfield

1997 - Willa Cather

1997 – William J. Bryan

1995 - Don Bryant

1994 - Jack Tarr

1994 - Tom Allan

1993 - Neale Copple

1993 - Mentor Brown

1992 - Jim Raglin

1992 - Henry Mead

1990 - Reva Evans

1990 - W. F. Cramb

1989 - Jack Lowe

1988 - Mary Packwood

1988 - Gregg McBride

1988 - Harold W. Andersen

1987 - Lester A. Walker

1987 - Joe R. Seacrest

1987 - Ruth Best Pagel

1987 - Gene Kemper 1987 - Tyler Edgecombe

1987 - Glenn A. Buck

1975 — John Hyde Sweet

1975 - Harry D. Strunk 1975 - Emerson R. Purcell

1975 - Dr. George L. Miller

1975 - Walt Mason

1975 - Earl M. Marvin

1975 – John Alexander

MacMurphy

1975 – James E. Lawrence 1975 - Gene Huse

1975 - Edgar Howard

1975 - Gilbert M. Hitchcock

1975 - Charles H. Gere

1975 - Art C. Gardner

1975 - Frank 0. Edgecombe

1975 - August F. Buechier

1975 - Dr. A. L. Bixby 1975 – Bess Furman Armstrong

NEBRASKA JOURNALISM HALL OF FAME NOMINATION

Nomination Deadline: February 5, 2025

DATE:
YOUR NAME:
YOURNEWSPAPER:
NAME OF NOMINEE(S):
NEWSPAPER:
NOMINEE'S ADDRESS:
CONTACT OR NEXT OF KIN FOR POSTHUMOUS NOMINATION:
NOMINEE OR CONTACT PHONE:
NOMINEE OR CONTACT EMAIL:
Biography of your nominee(s). (Please include all required data on the individual(s) nominated and follow the enclosed eligibility guidelines.)

2025

Send nominations to: Violet Spader, Nebraska Press Association 845 "S" Street, Lincoln, NE 68508 Email: vs@nebpress.com Phone: 402-476-2851

Nominations must be received by February 5, 2025.