CoJMC Faculty/Staff Meeting 11.12.21 | 10:30 a.m.

Attendees: Adam Wagler, Alan Eno, Amy Ort, Andrea Gaghagen, Barney McCoy, Brian Petrotta, Bridgett Grant, Bryan Wang, Carly Morse, Chris Graves, Ciera Kirkpatrick, Frauke Hachtmann, Haley Hamel, Jason Stamm, Jemalyn Griffin, Jessica Walsh, John Bender, Brian Hubbard, John Shrader, Kaitlin Van Loon, Katie Krcmarik, Kelli Boling, Kelli Britten, Laurie Lee, Luis Peon-Casanova, Madeline Wiseman, Maria Marron, Matt Waite, Michelle Hassler, Monique Farmer, Nicole Blackstock, Rick Alloway, Shari Veil, Shoun Hill, Susan Oestmann, Valerie Jones, Joe Weber, Chandra Traxler, Margaret Nongo-Okojokwu, Tabitha Kube, Whitney Koehn, Michaela Farley, Jasmine Alexander, and Rafael Bicudo

Absent: Iman Farid, Alex Fernando, Emily Morrow, David Ornelas, Anne McConkey, Bruce Thorson, Changmin Yan, Jennifer Sheppard, Jill Martin, Kaci Richter, Karez Hassan, Dane Kiambi, Kris Scanlon, Olga Pierce, Steve Blum, Mia Everding, Rick Griffin, Claire Wiens and Tiffany Groteluschen.

Meeting was opened at 10:34 a.m.

The October minutes were reviewed, a motion was made by Joe Weber to approve, Maria seconded. Motion passed.

Jemalyn provided an update on the experience lab. They are moving students who applied around to where they fit the best and wrapping up the current semester of students and PIRs.

Rick asked for a round of applause for Jemalyn and Jill for all of their work with the experience lab.

Next week we start the interviews for the ADPR PoP position. The Media production interviews will start soon.

John Bender presented the bylaws and the few changes suggested by Judy Walker. The motion to approve is coming from the executive committee.

A question was asked about proxy votes, the way it is written, 2/3 of the faculty would need to be there and 2/3 of those faculty would need to vote.

A motion was made by Valerie to have a secret ballot vote for voting on the bylaws, it was seconded by Frauke. 23 for. Motion passed.

The motion from the executive committee to approve the bylaws with the voting amendment. 27 votes for. Motion passed.

Executive Committee

Haley spoke to us about the student worker policy to provide promotions or raises to the student workers in the college along with pay levels, reviews, funding, and professional development. Motion from the executive committee to approve the student worker policy processes, 27 for, motion passed.

Motion from the executive committee to approve the plan for the accreditation plan of collection of materials for the site study.

27 for, Motion passed.

A Motion from the committee to change the door access to Andersen Hall to 24/7 key card access. Those who have an n-card (other university members/students) can get in with their card between 7

a.m.-7:30 p.m., then outside of those hours the access would revert to faculty, staff and majors in the college. The policy would include a doorbell for guests to get in. 28 for, Motion passed.

Undergraduate Curriculum

Adam shared syllabus updates and linking to resources and provided all with "Big Red Folders" with campus resources.

The committee brought course changes for voting.

- Remove JOMC 206 rereq for JOMC 306
 - o 23 for, 3 abstain, motion passed
- Experience Lab
 - o Creation of Experience Lab courses: JOMC 197, 197H, 297, 297H, 397, 397H, 497, 497H
 - 25 for, Motion passed
 - o Experience Lab Requirement: JOMC 197, 297 and 397
 - 24 for, Motion passed
- Increase max credit hours from 18 to 19
 - o 25 for, motion, 1 against
- Social Justice, Human Rights, and the Media Requirement
 - o 22 for, 1 against.
- Reduce the required credit hours outside the college from 72 to 66 reflecting the addition of six hours and keeping total credit hours required under 120.
 - o 24 for, motion passed.

The remaining agenda was tabled due to time. Meeting adjourned at 12:30 p.m.