All College Meeting Minutes May 13, 2022, 10:30 a.m.

Attending: Adam Wagler, Alan Eno, Amy Ort, Andrea Gaghagen, Barney McCoy, Brian Hubbard, Brian Petrotta, Bridgett Grant, Bryan Wang, Carly Morse, Chandra Traxler, Chris Graves, Ciera Kirkpatrick, Dane Kiambi, David Ornelas, Emily Morrow, Frauke Hachtmann, Haley Hamel, Jamie Wenz, Jason Stamm, Jenn Sheppard, Jessica Walsh, Jill Martin, John Bender, John Shrader, Kaci Richter, Kaitlin Van Loon, Karez Hassan, Katie Krcmarik, Kelli Boling, Ken Fischer, Laurie Lee, Luis Peon-Casanova, Madeline Wiseman, Margaret Nongo-Okojokwu, Maria Marron, Matt Waite, Mia Everding, Michaela Farley, Michelle Hassler, Monique Farmer, Natalie Roetman, Nicole Blackstock, Rafael Bicudo, Rick Alloway, Rick Griffin, Shari Veil, Shoun Hill, Susan Oestmann, Tabitha Kube, Tiffany Groteluschen, Valerie Jones, and Whitney Koehn

The meeting started at 10:34 a.m.

April Minutes

Barney McCoy moved to approve the February minutes. John Shrader seconded. Motion approved by voice vote.

Announcements

Shari Veil reminded all to book your travel through Concur for any professional travel. She also asked everyone to enter the events from the hand-out and classes onto their calendars.

Kudos

Veil announced the April winners. Haley Hamel won as the April Kudos nominator and Nicole Blackstock won the Kudos recipient.

Old Business

Hiring

Veil noted that the executive committee approved of Sharon Baldinelli as an assistant professor of practice.

Committee Reports

Executive Committee

Veil reported that the executive committee has reviewed the college strategic hiring plan, which was submitted to Executive Vice Chancellor Ankerson earlier in the week. The plan includes six faculty positions, including an assistant professor of practice in sports media and communication/advertising and public relations, an assistant professor in sports media and communication/advertising and public relations, an assistant professor of practice in media production, an assistant/associate/full professor in depth reporting (Deepe Endowed Chair in Depth Reporting), an assistant/associate/full professor of practice in depth reporting (Deepe Endowed Chair in Depth Reporting) and an assistant professor of media law.

The Executive Committee moved to approve emeritus status for Joe Weber. The motion was approved with 26 votes in favor, 0 votes against and 1 abstention.

The Executive Committee moved to adopt the College of Journalism and Mass Communications Information Technology Security policy. The motion was approved with 26 in favor, 0 against and 1 abstention.

The Executive Committee moved to approve the College of Journalism and Mass Communications Awards Program. The motion was approved with 28 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

The Executive Committee moved to approve amendments to the College of Journalism and Mass Communications travel funding policy. The motion passed with 28 in favor, 0 against and 1 abstention.

Curriculum Committee

The Undergraduate Curriculum Committee moved to designate and categorize courses as experiential learning courses. The motion was approved with 27 in favor, 0 votes against and 0 abstentions.

The Undergraduate Curriculum Committee moved to adopt the enhanced independent study proposal template and support the creation of a faculty facing webpage intended to facilitate the involvement of undergraduate students in faculty research projects. The motion was approved with 28 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

The Undergraduate Curriculum Committee moved to create BRDC 327: Advanced Audio Content, 369: Advanced Videography and 427: Podcasting as permanent courses. The motion was approved with 26 in favor, 1 against and 0 abstentions.

Graduate Committee

Wagler reported that the committee is working to collect data from the new graduate exit survey.

Wagler reported that the college has received a report from ADV Market Research and Consulting, which examined the college's Ph.D. proposal. The committee will review the findings and make recommendations for adjustments to the program.

Wagler noted that 12 IMC (Integrated Media Communications) students, 2 professional journalism and 1 public relations and social media certificate student will graduate this weekend.

The Graduate Committee moved to approve course options for the media specialization for Political Science Ph.D. students. The motion was approved with 27 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

Scholarship Committee

Andrea Gaghagen reported that so far, the committee has awarded 72 scholarships for a total of \$196,000. The committee held back \$4000 for transfer students. This year the committee has also issued three awards for the Perry Challenge, five Omaha Press Club scholarships, one Grimes award of \$1000, six internship awards and four Roper awards.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

John Bender reported that the committee has selected Rob Flores as the multicultural homecoming guest for 2022. They have also established a process for selecting future multicultural homecoming nominees and increasing college involvement in the LGBTQA+ dinner.

Technology Committee

Haley Hamel reported that the faculty offices are almost complete, and faculty will move on May 23. The first construction meeting on the studio is on Thurs., May 19. We are waiting for one final permit approval from the city for the Perry Multimedia Classroom.

Hamel also reported that we are finalizing our new laptop lease and hope to have them available for faculty and staff beginning on July 15.

Strategic Planning Committee

Veil reported that the committee reviewed recent findings from the senior exit and alumni surveys. They have forwarded their recommendations to the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee.

Meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.