All College Meeting Minutes

May 10, 2024, 10:30 a.m.

Attending: Adam Wagler, Ahman Green, Alan Eno, Alex Fernando, Alisa Smith, Amy Ort, Barney McCoy, Bill Doleman, Brian Hubbard, Brian Petrotta, Bridgett Grant, Bryan Wang, Changmin Yan, Chris Graves, Ciera Kirkpatrick, Cory Armstrong, Dane Kiambi, Dave Remund, Frauke Hachtmann, Haley Hamel, Jamie Wenz, Jason Stamm, Jemalyn Griffin, Jessica Walsh, Jill Martin, Kaci Richter, Kelli Boling, Ken Fischer, Kristian Anderson, Laurie Lee, Linda White, Matt Waite, Michael Park, Natalie Becerra, Nicole Blackstock, Rick Alloway, Ryan Tan, Shari Veil, Sharon Baldinelli, Susan Oestmann, Tiffany Groteluschen and Valerie Jones

The meeting started at 10:31 a.m.

April Minutes

Barney McCoy moved to approve the April minutes. Motion approved by voice vote.

Announcements

April Kudos awards go to Rick Alloway as the nominator and Alisa Smith as the nominee.

Veil announced that we are fully reaccredited.

Veil reported that we will bring in candidates for the academic adviser position for interviews next week.

Veil also reported that we currently have 203 first-time freshmen enrollment deposits paid for fall 2024.

Committee Reports

Executive Committee

The executive committee moved to approve emeriti status for Michelle Hassler. The motion was approved with 28 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

Veil reported that the committee is working on adjustments to the faculty travel policy due to budget constraints. She also reported that the committee approved an amendment to the policies and procedures surrounding the chair of the scholarships and student success committee, the graduate handbook, an updated assessment timeline, a course applications policy and a policy related to staff development. These will be on the first all-college meeting agenda in the fall.

Strategic Planning Committee

Veil noted the committee reviewed the climate survey results and the final Aim of the strategic plan and will be making suggestions for updates to the plan.

Curriculum Committee

Wagler stated that they are working on ACE evaluations and collecting ACE work samples for review. He reported that faculty should develop attendance policies for inclusion in their syllabi. He reminded the group of the course incompletes policy and encouraged faculty to consider incompletes carefully. The committee brought forward voting items.

The curriculum committee moved to require BRDC 372: Broadcast News Writing for Audio and BRDC 374: News Videography for Broadcasting News majors, replacing the 300-level "required electives" options. The motion was approved with 28 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

The curriculum committee moved to approve the updated college assessment plan. The motion was approved with 28 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

Graduate Committee

Wagler noted that we will have three new graduate student assistants.

The graduate committee moved to approve a new graduate handbook. The motion was approved with 27 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

Scholarship Committee

Tiffany Groteluschen mentioned that the new Bailey Lauerman mural has been put up. She has also been working on scholarship awarding.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Armstong thanked the committee for their work this last year. The one thing they are still working on is applying for a grant from ODI to host our own version of Husker Dialogues. Armstrong reported that we were not selected for the AEJMC Diversity Award.

Research, Creative Activity Committee

Armstong noted that the last thing the group completed were nominations for the college's awards.

Technology Committee

Hamel reported that bid for KRNU's updates is open with bids due May 31. KRNU has also been transitioned to the new website platform, Blox Digital. We received the quote for updates to the third-floor studio but have requested alternative quotes. She also noted that all university websites will transition to Drupal 10 this summer and the committee is investigating production elements software.

Student Competitions Committee

Jill Martin thanked her committee for their work this year. They submitted quite a few award submissions across the college. Recent awards included SPJ Mark of Excellence and AMA Prism Awards.

Veil presented Rick with his college award for Excellence in Industry or Community Engagement.

She also announced that Jill Martin, Jemalyn Griffin and Kaci Richter were promoted, and John Shrader has been elected president-elect of the faculty senate.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:44 a.m.