University of Nebraska–Lincoln wins Three National SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards

Thursday, May 7, 2015 - 7:00pm

The Society of Professional Journalists recently recognized the 2014 National Mark of Excellence Awards winners. University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications students won 3 awards in three different categories.

National winners will be recognized at Excellence in Journalism 2015 (EIJ15) in Orlando, Florida, Sept. 18 to 20. The awards are judged by professionals with at least three years of journalism experience.

The awards honor the best in student journalism. As such, judges were directed to choose only those entries that they felt were outstanding work worthy of such an honor. If the judges determined that none of the entries rose to the level of excellence, no award was given. Any category not listed has no winner. The Mark of Excellence Awards honor the best of collegiate journalism from a calendar year.

School divisions are based on student enrollment, which includes both graduate and undergraduate enrollment: Large schools have more than 10,000 students and small schools have fewer than 9,999 students.

Feature Writing (Large)
Winner: “At home in America” by Mara Klecker, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Sports Writing (Large)
Winner: “Former Husker football player overcomes drug addiction” by Chris Heady, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Online Feature Reporting
Winner: “Saving Sisay” by Faiz Siddiqui, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. For more information about SPJ, please visit
Chris Heady, Mara Klecker, and Faiz Siddiqui
Chris Heady, Mara Klecker, and Faiz Siddiqui