University of Nebraska–Lincoln to compete at national advertising competition for sixth year

Thursday, April 24, 2014 - 7:00pm

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications was one of eight college teams selected to compete for the national title in the National Student Advertising Competition. University of Nebraska–Lincoln will compete at the American Advertising Federation national conference in Boca Raton, Fla., on May 29. 

University of Nebraska–Lincoln, who took home first place in their district competition for the sixth year in a row, competed against 15 districts with an additional 16th “virtual” district in a semi-final round on April 25. More than 150 colleges and universities take on the NSAC challenge each year on a national level. Year after year, some districts will have as many as 22 teams competing. University of Nebraska–Lincoln won the national competition in 2012.

Professionals in the communications industry judge the competition. Judges at the national level are selected from the client and their advertising agencies. 

The National Student Advertising Competition required American Advertising Federation college chapter members to develop a 26-page marketing campaign and 20-minute presentation in response to a real-world case study co-authored by the Mary Kay marketing team and the AAF Academic Division as it relates to expanding its footprint with the 18-25 year old market with the launch of products designed especially for this age group.         

The AAF Education Services department and the AAF Academic Division, a group of advertising educators and practitioners from across the country, who oversee the policies and procedures of the competitions, govern the competition. These members ensure that there is a level playing field and that the competition demonstrates the highest academic and professional standards.         

Michael Goff and Rich Bailey are the University of Nebraska–Lincoln team advisors. Goff is a professor of practice in advertising and public relations. Bailey is an adjunct professor and NSAC advisor with the College of Journalism and Mass Communications.       

The 2014 NSAC team members by hometown and the roles they play: 

Eustis: Leah Marie Keller, research/planning  
Elkhorn: Jolene Marie Dreier, project manager
Lincoln: Lauren Grace Bejot, social media director; Lauren Elizabeth Geisert, copywriter; Brendon Michael Henning, copywriter; Andrew Ross Keohane, music/audio; Kathryn Elizabeth Pauley, copywriter; Grant Mitchell Weber, copywriter; Waring Wyndham Wiley, photographer and videographer 
Omaha: Rhett Steven Muller, copywriter
South Sioux City:  Rachel Lynn Leitschuck, account executive     
Valentine:  Quentin James Orr, videographer
Waverly:  Jacob J. Strange, research/planning and media assistant

Hensley, Ark.: Cody Dylan Elmore, creative director
Shenyang, China: April Xinchi Zhang, graphic designer
Buffalo Grove, Ill.: Adam Sigfried Kroft, research/planning director
Johnston, Iowa: Eric Seth Thompson, copywriter
Kansas City, Mo.: Anna Catherine McTygue, research/planning 
Overland Park, Kan.: Matthew Burton Heng, social media 
Avon Lake, Ohio:  Jeffrey Thomas Rau, graphic designer
Austin, Texas: Alex Marie Meyer, media director
Lubbock, Texas:  Sarah Jo Lambert, PR director 
Germantown, Wisc.:  Kimberly Anne Panagis, research/planning