University of Nebraska–Lincoln CoJMC to host NewsTrain workshops

University of Nebraska–Lincoln CoJMC to host NewsTrain workshops

Tuesday, December 8, 2015 - 6:00pm
NewsTrain Powered by APME logo
NewsTrain Powered by APME logo

University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications has been selected to host the Associated Press Media Editors’ NewsTrain, a program that will bring high-quality, affordable training for journalists, journalism educators and students to Lincoln on April 9, 2016.

The NewsTrain workshops will focus on both the digital and traditional skills needed by journalists. The host committee conducted an assessment of newsroom needs in the region, and a detailed workshop lineup will be announced early in the New Year.

"We’re thrilled to be able to bring APME NewsTrain to Lincoln and the College of Journalism and Mass Communications,” said College of Journalism and Mass Communications Dean Maria Marron. “The program provides exceptional training for journalists, educators and students on tools and techniques essential in a rapidly changing media environment. Professor Sue Burzynski Bullard, who hosted NewsTrain when she was managing editor of The Detroit News, did an exceptional job in planning this program.”

"APME brings in top-notch trainers with national reputations to conduct sessions on the latest media trends and technologies,” said Professor Bullard. “When I was a newspaper editor, I found NewsTrain sessions extremely valuable for my staff. I think journalists in our region will find that true in our workshop too.”

A host committee was formed to bring the workshop to Nebraska. The committee included:

  • Dave Bundy, Lincoln Journal Star editor
  • Sue Burzynski Bullard, associate professor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, committee chair
  • Michael Kennedy, Nebraska College Media Association executive director;
  • Dale Leach, AP bureau chief
  • Melissa Matczak, Omaha World-Herald managing editor
  • Lisa McLendon, Bremner Editing Center coordinator, University of Kansas
  • Amalie Nash, executive editor and vice president for news and engagement, Des Moines Register
  • Rose Ann Shannon, KETV-Omaha news director
  • Mark Siebert, assistant professor, multimedia communication, Simpson College
  • David Swartzlander, Nebraska Media Association president and Doane College Journalism and Media department chairman
  • Jim Timm, Nebraska Broadcasters Association president and executive director;
  • Kent Warnecke, Norfolk Daily News editor
  • Peggy Year, Nebraska Press Association representative and Northeast Nebraska News Co. publisher

The other workshops sites for 2016 are Lexington, Kentucky; Halifax, Nova Scotia; and Murfreesboro, Tennessee. The sites selected for NewsTrain’s 13th year were selected competitively from applications received from journalists and journalism programs in the United States and Canada.

The workshop costs $75. Register now for APME NewsTrain. Space is limited.

NewsTrain’s low tuition – $75 – is made possible by donors, big and small, who in 2015 included Advance Local, The Ethics & Excellence in Journalism Foundation, The Associated Press, The APME Foundation, Scripps Howard Foundation, the Gannett Foundation, GateHouse Media, the Samuel I. Newhouse Foundation and APME past and present board members.

The Nebraska Broadcasters Association and the Nebraska Press Association are co-sponsoring the event with the College of Journalism and Mass Communications.