University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s National Broadcasting Society students win national awards

Friday, March 14, 2014 - 7:00pm

Students from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln chapter of the National Broadcasting Society won two grand prize awards at the 51st Annual National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition, held in Burbank, Calif., on March 15. 

Ryan Smith won a grand prize for a video PSA for his Nebraska Foodbank public service announcement for television. Ryan Swanigan won a grand prize in audio promo for his 30-second “Jazzy Vibes” radio promo.

The College of Journalism and Mass Communications was a finalist in four categories: audio promo; audio sports package; video feature package; and video PSAs. The annual awards competition honors NBS students for excellence in audio, video, scriptwriting, web development and academic research and writing.

NBS presented these awards at the 72nd National Convention held in Hollywood, Calif., from March 10 to 16.  University of Nebraska–Lincoln NBS students who attended the convention included John Hansen, Kevin Kuehl, Haley Herzog, Ryan Smith and Patrick Wright. The convention sponsors workshops, offers networking opportunities with industry professionals and allows students to participate as audience members at television show tapings such as “The Price is Right” and “Conan.”

The National Broadcasting Society - Alpha Epsilon Rho, is a student and professional society of more than 85 chapters on college, university, and community college campuses. Through the years, NBS-AERho has had as its purpose the goal of encouraging and rewarding scholarship and accomplishment among students of broadcasting, to establish meaningful communication between student and professional broadcasters and to foster integrity in the use of the powerful instruments of radio, television, film, cable and its many associated businesses and industries.

For more information about the University of Nebraska–Lincoln chapter of the National Broadcasting Society, email Dr. Laurie Thomas Lee at

For more information about the national organization, please visit