CoJMC Students Win SPJ Regional Awards and Advance to Nationals

CoJMC Students Win SPJ Regional Awards and Advance to Nationals

Friday, April 22, 2016 - 10:30am
Society of Professional Journalists logo
Society of Professional Journalists logo

University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications students received nine Region 7 Mark of Excellence awards from the Society of Professional Journalists.

SPJ’s Region 7 comprises Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska. Award recipients were honored at the Region 7 Spring Conference in Overland Park, Kansas. Winners will move on to the national Merit of Excellence competition among category winners from the 12 SPJ regions.

Five CoJMC students were winners of a division and will move on to the national competition. National winners will be notified in late spring and recognized at the Excellence in Journalism 2016 Sept. 18-20 in New Orleans.

The awards honor the best in student journalism. As such, judges were directed to choose only those entries that they felt were outstanding work worthy of such an honor. If the judges determined that none of the entries rose to the level of excellence, no award was given. The MOE Awards honor the best of collegiate journalism from a calendar year.

School divisions are based on student enrollment, which includes both graduate and undergraduate enrollment: Large schools have more than 10,000 students and small schools have fewer than 9,999 students.


Sports Writing (Large)

  • Winner: “Mike Riley isn’t following in his father’s footsteps anymore” by Chris Heady of Leawood, Kansas


Online Feature Reporting

  • Finalist: “La Cinega” by Mara Klecker of Hermosa, South Dakota

Online In-depth Reporting

  • Finalist: “Sexual Assault Awareness Continues to Increase at University of Nebraska–Lincoln” by Jordan Huesers of Overland Park, Kansas

Online News Reporting

  • Winner: “University of Nebraska–Lincoln Student Veterans’ Lives and College Experiences” by Benjamin A.Schoenkin of Lincoln


Radio In-Depth Reporting

  • Finalist: “Nebraska Euthanasia Debate” by Benjamin A. Schoenkin

Radio Sports Reporting

  • Winner: “Husker Countdown-BYU Football Suspensions” by Tommy Rezac of Valparaiso

Television Feature Reporting

  • Winner: “Drag Show: A new man” by Conor Dunn of Bennington

Television General News Reporting

  • Finalist: “Alzheimer’s: Forgotten Lives” by Erica Nett of Stoughton, Wisconsin

Television Sports Reporting

  • Winner: Rodeo Club by Joy Carey of Omaha

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.