CoJMC students place in NPA competitions

Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 2:00pm

Four University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Journalism & Mass Communications students swept the Nebraska Press Association’s annual writing and photojournalism collegiate contests.

The competition was held in conjunction with the 142nd Annual Nebraska Press Association Convention on Friday, April 22 in Kearney.

In the writing competition, sophomore Zachary Hammack of Lincoln took first place and Sophomore Anni Albin of Lincoln took second place.

In the photojournalism competition, junior Amber Baesler of Omaha took first place and senior Merika Andrade took second place.

The students were awarded a total of $1,000 in cash prizes.

The writing contest is sponsored by Butch and Nancy Furse of Aurora. The photojournalism contest is sponsored by the Omaha World-Herald and Zean and Marilyn Careny of Lincoln.