CoJMC photojournalism students attend Pictures of Year judging

CoJMC photojournalism students attend Pictures of Year judging

Monday, February 29, 2016 - 6:00pm
Bruce Thorson
Bruce Thorson

University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications photojournalism students traveled to the University of Missouri Reynolds Journalism Institute to attend the Pictures of the Year International contest judging

Bruce Thorson, associate professor of photojournalism, took 12 photojournalism students to Columbia, Missouri, on Feb. 18-19. They observed the Reportage Division of judging.

“The students witnessed two days of judging, seeing about 15,000 images. It really helps solidify in their minds the difference what is a good photograph and what is a mediocre photograph. It’s an experience I cannot recreate in the classroom.”

POYi is one the oldest, largest and most respected photojournalism contests in the world. This contest is equivalent to the Pulitzer Prize competition in caliber.

“In addition to learning more about what makes a coherent photo story, the trip was an incredible networking opportunity,” CoJMC photojournalism student Calla Kessler said. “We were able to meet and dine with the prestigious judging panel and meet other photo students from Mizzou.”

University of Missouri photojournalism students hosted the University of Nebraska–Lincoln CoJMC students on the overnight trip. The group also ate at Shakespeare Pizza, a local favorite.

The CoJMC offers two photojournalism classes that focus on capturing photos for news, feature and sports that are applicable to different types of media. The advanced course builds on the principles of the first. Students who have taken these courses can apply for a depth reporting course. The course is part of the Global Eyewitness program, which is a program that sends students around the world to places of great human need to produce multimedia packages.

The students who attended are:

  • Jake Crandall
  • Tyler Schank
  • Marcella Mercer
  • Margaret Holmes
  • Mara Klecker
  • Calla Kessler
  • Alyssa Ranard
  • Zach Henke
  • Merika Andrade
  • Scott Witty
  • Matt Hanson
  • Adam Warner