Advertising students from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications placed seventh in the 2011 National Student Advertising Competition in San Diego, Calif., June 3.

"This national contest is great validation of the skill and talent of our students and professors, especially Phil Willet and Rich Bailey," said Gary Kebbel, dean of the journalism college. "Our team focused on the future and centered their recommendations around interactive mobile applications to attract the young JCPenney audience anywhere, anytime on any device."

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln qualified for the competition because of its first-place finish in the district competition in April and the third year that a J school team will have competed for the national title. The 2010 UNL team was only one of four schools in the nation to place in the competition.

The competition, sponsored by the American Advertising Federation, provides college students with hands-on, practical experience necessary to be competitive in the advertising industry. The competition will be held in conjunction with the AAF National Conference.

James Edmund Datri, AAF president and chief executive officer, said "The NSAC is a unique experience for all stakeholders involved. From a student perspective, it provides them the real-world experience they need to gain a competitive edge in today's advertising talent market; from a client perspective, they receive a wealth of innovative ideas to incorporate into their marketing strategy."

This year the NSAC challenged AAF college chapter teams to create a comprehensive marketing communications campaign that would enable JCPenney to expand their market share among women ages 25?34 and work with a $100 million budget.

2011 Plaidvertising Team

The 2010-2011 NSAC team included 18 UNL advertising majors. Following is a list of the team members by hometown and the role they played:


Alliance: Krista McDonald, senior, account planner

Clearwater: Megan Kester, senior, co-media director

Fort Calhoun: Allie Busch, senior, co-account supervisor

Grand Island: Betsey Stehlik, senior, co-media director

Gretna: Zach Bock, senior, co-creative director

Lincoln: Joshua Anstey, senior, co-creative director; Christina Fraser, senior, designer; Griffin Jelinek, senior, co-account supervisor; Molly Wheeler, senior, designer

Omaha: Dennis Bukowski, senior, designer; Doug Flegle, senior, account planner; Liz Garcia, senior, account coordinator; Anna Loach, senior, mobile digital director; Breanna Stewart, junior, copywriter

North Platte: John Erlandson, senior, copywriter

Scottsbluff: Nick Goodwin, senior, digital designer

Sidney: Alex McAreavey, senior, designer


MINNESOTA: Mike Taylor, senior, copywriter

For more information on the NSAC, please visit or contact Education Services at or (202) 898-0089.

About JCPenney Company, Inc.
JCPenney is one of America's leading retailers, operating throughout the US and Puerto Rico. It carries the largest apparel and home furnishing sites on the Internet,, and the nation's largest general merchandise catalog business. Across their integrated enterprise, JCPenney offers a wide array of national, private and exclusive brands which reflect the Company's commitment to providing customers with style and quality at compelling prices. For more information, visit the JCPenney, Inc. website at

About the American Advertising Federation
The American Advertising Federation, headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 40,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 214 college chapters, the AAF provides 7,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has nearly 100 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at

NSAC logoJCPenney Logo

2010-2011 NSAC team members and their roles:

  • Joshua Anstey, co-creative director
  • Zach Bock, co-creative director
  • Dennis Bukowski, designer
  • Allie Busch, co-account supervisor
  • John Erlandson, copywriter
  • Doug Flegle, account planner
  • Christina Fraser, designer
  • Liz Garcia, account coordinator
  • Nick Goodwin, digital designer
  • Griffin Jelinek, co-account supervisor
  • Megan Kester, co-media director
  • Anna Loach, mobile digital director
  • Alex McAreavey, designer
  • Krista McDonald, account planner
  • Betsey Stehlik, co-media director
  • Breanna Stewart, copywriter
  • Mike Taylor, copywriter
  • Molly Wheeler, designer


  • Phil Willet, assistant professor, College of Journalism and Mass Communications,
    (402) 472-3824
  • Amy Struthers, associate professor, College of Journalism and Mass Communications,
    (402) 472-3528
  • Marilyn Hahn, communications specialist, College of Journalism and Mass Communications,
    (402) 472-0876