Three professors from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Journalism and Mass Communications took home four of seven awards in the 2013 edition of Teaching News Terrifically in the 21st Century. The Newspaper and Online News Division of the Association of Education for Journalism and Mass Communication announced the awards during the NOND business meeting in Washington, D.C., on Aug. 9.

Sue Burzynski Bullard won the full-time faculty division with a teaching idea titled, “Short and Tweet.” Carla J. Kimbrough took second place with “ProWatch: Critically Thinking about Reporters’ Work.” Michelle Carr Hassler tied for third place with an article titled, “The Amazing Twitter List Race.”

Bullard received honorable mention for a second submission, “Editors as Curators: Using New Tools to Deliver the News.”

Bullard teaches editing, reporting and multimedia classes. She joined the UNL faculty in 2008. Kimbrough teaches reporting and editing classes and coordinates a career fair every spring and fall. She joined the UNL faculty in 2008. Hassler is a professor of practice and admissions coordinator. She has been teaching at UNL since 1998.

TNT21 was founded in 2009 by the Newspaper and Online News Division of AEJMC to honor instructors for good ideas for teaching three types of foundational courses: newswriting, reporting and editing. To honor a variety of types of instructors who teach these courses, awards are given in three divisions: full-time faculty; adjunct instructors; and graduate students teaching their own course.

Each TNT21 entry is judged by three judges on seven criteria:

  • Suitability for use in teaching newswriting, reporting or editing
  • Originality
  • Innovation
  • Ease of application
  • Adaptability to other courses and different types of departments and schools
  • Completeness of the submission
  • Writing quality of the submission

Judges for the 2013 competition were Erin Coyle of Louisiana State University; Joel Campbell of Brigham Young University; Patricia Dobson of Eastern New Mexico University; Pamela B. Fine of the University of Kansas; Kyle Heim of Seton Hall University; Kevin Lerner of Marist College; David Loomis of Indiana University of Pennsylvania; Mitchell McKenney of Kent State University; John Oudens of The New York Times; Craig Paddock of the University of North Carolina-Charlotte; Bill Reader of Ohio University; Scott Reinardy of the University of Kansas; Chris Roberts of the University of Alabama; Lisa A. Romero of the University of Illinois; Carol Schlagheck of Eastern Michigan University; Rob Spicer of Millersville University; and Leslie-Jean Thornton of Arizona State University.